I Can’t Even

think of a new title for this here blog. Maybe it’ll hit me once I start uni.

Wait, what’s that? Start uni, you said? You’ve got to be kidding me. You, uni? Uni, you? U-ni?

Yep, that’s right. I’m starting uni in less than a month, and pleasingly, I can’t wait! I know it’s been a long time since you heard from me, a surefire symptom of how much I’m enjoying what’s been termed “the best and longest holiday of your life you little slacker so you’d better make the most of it” (note the counter-example: the exponential rise of blog-post-frequency during exam time). So much has happened and I have no clue how to even commence to start…

-I got a job! or four.
-I invested myself in the hottest 100 with alarming devotion.
-I avoided schoolies at Avoca alongside my best mates.
-I went to falls!
-I caught up on my childhood, watching The Parent Trap and Father of the Bride Part 1 2.
I learnt just a smidgen of independence when my mum left my dad and I in charge for just over two weeks.
-I went to many gigs.
-I bought Ukulele for Dummies.
-I did not at all grow out of making lists.
-I also did not learn how to turn vaguely amusing anecdotes into witty and eloquent blog posts.

I’m sure there’s at least one good story about how my dear old dad barely avoided burning down the house with a frypan of flaming oil, or how I tie-dyed all our shirts with pink highlights… but I can’t seem to get it down on the page. I could even talk about how beautiful Avoca St, Bondi is at Christmastime, or wax lyrical on the raw power and beauty of Regina Spektor’s voice in a packed-out Opera House (by the way, she’s a real short-ass. A damn incredible short-ass), or again bemoan my ineptitude and inability to convey meaning (read: talk) to those of that fairer sex. But nah.

Instead, here’s two songs that have become stuck in my head as of today! (maybe I’ll start up some sort of song of the day thing.)

à bientôt!

Leave a Reply

