Community, Baguettes, and A Crying Shame

BAGUETTE?

BAGUETTE!

So the Unearthed High finalists were announced today, and I have to admit that I am in complete and utter awe. I mean, I should really know what to expect, since I’m on my way to see last year’s winners SNAKAAAAAAAAAA this Saturday, once I’ve rid myself of the scourge of trials, but still, I’m pretty blown away. And while I can’t say that the song we might have written (had I gotten off my ass to write some lyrics and be a better singer) wouldn’t’ve been good, I’ve no doubt that these beautiful, lively, hilarious tracks and their artists fully deserve to be finalists. (in the wake of that flurry of double negatives, I kinda also have to admit that I am spouting unsubstantiated praise as I’m yet to actually listen to all of these songs… but they’re great so far!)

Anyway, I’m going to excuse that rabble of incoherency with the fact that my brain is currently in a fondue-like state of delicious gooeyness due to the 4u maths trial I had this morning. Which, despite its torturous, characteristically BDDish trix, I’m hoping went slightly better than the disastrous half yearly and May assessment.

And now onto community; in spite of my resolution to work for the upcoming five-exam/three-day straight shot of torture that waits, in all its devilish glory, for me at the end of this week, I still haven’t started any work, instead choosing to remind myself of my still-burning love of Community. Now, I can’t believe that I haven’t already waxed lyrical about its insanely bang-on hilarity, but a search of my posts seems to protest otherwise. I can’t really do it justice, I don’t think, but later on I reckon I might make a bit of an effort to review a few episodes. Todd VanDerWerff does a smashing job over at The A.V. Club, so I can look to that for some inspiration. At the present moment, I’m still basking in the beautiful glow of the third season finale, over which I just quickly skimmed, and which reminds me of some of the things, apart from the always deliciously meta concept episodes (think 8-bit? stop motion? bottle? full pulp fiction parody? flashback? et al), that I love about Dan Harmon’s baby.

It’s just incredible how you can create so much beautiful, cheesy-yet-sincere, character depth and heart while simultaneously self-awarely subverting and undermining the whole concept of a cheesy sit-commy wrap up. And the standard WInger-wrap-up does just that; it’s got just the right amount of convoluted self-contradiction so that it makes sense both in its own right and a parody, yet I can’t help but smile and embrace the cheese. And the third season, dreamy edged wrap-up was fantastic; it leaves us fans with grossly ample speculation fodder, confirms future dreams and fears, and parodies yet embraces the simple next-season set up. fuark Community is boss.

On that note, I’ve already done this somewhere else, and this list is very much just randomly off the top of my head, but here are some of my favourite Community episodes. (note that I’m doing this by memory off the wiki list of episode synopses… sue me. I’m sure I’ll recant and deny any and all following declarations at a later date when refreshed by repeat viewing.)

Representing Season 1, may I present:

“Introduction to Film” – The Abed/Abed’s Dad dynamic gets me every time… stupid onion-chopping goblins. (speaking of goblins, I’m in the midst of an ongoing internal debate over whether or not I actually like Tyler and Odd Future. think I do. But I’ll save that for later.) And I love the go at Dead Poets Society.

and, of course,

“Modern Warfare” – who can forget the introduction of epic paintball?

In the Season 2 corner, here are:

“Accounting for Lawyers” – Annie, Annie, and more Annie. And Troy. That chloroform bit knocks me out.

“Epidemiology” – hoh damn. ha. ha. ha. I am definitely become increasingly illiterate. (interesting fact, it took me five goes to spell illiterate there. All those tall letters…)

“Conspiracy Theories and Interior Design” – pillow fort, conspiracies, double-triple-behind-back-over-the-top-crosses, what more could you want? and I love Britta’s adult tent section…

“Mixology Certification” – for quite a while, up there as my fave episode; and that “Greendale is where I belong” theme, sahhhh beautiful

“Abed’s Uncontrollable Christmas” – nuf said.

“Intermediate Documentary Filmmaking” – oh how I hated this episode upon first, and second, and third viewing… but oh Pierce, oh Pierce… yep in retrospect, how good is this episode!!! (I really wish I could say more intelligent things about all these episodes… but to be honest I want to finish this post and it’s getting quite long, and ok I admit I don’t have many insightfully intelligent things to say. I like them, and that’s the long and short of it!)

“Paradigms of Human Memory” – omagawsh.

“A Fistful of Painballs” – yep. defs a step up.

there are heaps more, can I just say all of season 2?

AND FINALLY, THE TRIBUTES FROM SEASON THREE:

“Remedial Chaos Theory” – holy shit. holy shit. THE CONCEPT, THE CONCEPT. CONCEPTIONNNNNNNNNNNNNN

“Studies in Modern Movement” – ok, many disagree, but I love this episode. It’s got a perfect amount of heart. And I love Annie. And the Jeff/Dean is hilarious. AND OK I ADMIT IT I LOVED HORSEBOT 3000.

“Documentary Filmmaking: Redux” – this was helped along significantly by my love of Apocalypse Now, and awareness of/ desire to watch Hearts of Darkness. (that was probs my biggest stumbling block with “Critical Film Studies” – not having watched My Dinner With Andre, or, more ashamedly, Pulp Fiction…) so yeah. this was incredible. AND THAT THUMBS UP. oh Troy, I feel you buddy

“Virtual Systems Analysis” – currently my favourite. that is all.

“Curriculum Unavailable” – HOH DAMN. second favourite, anyone? after a lackluster mid-season, Harmon is storming home here.

“Digital Estate Planning” – yes.

“Introduction to Finality” – even the name is beautiful.

That all said, I love pretty much every episode.

SIDE NOTE. This has taken me absolutely forever to write, and I’ve now listened to all the Unearthed High Finalists one score and five times over. Jessica Cerro and Tyler Touche are clear clear favourites, with Asta in the middle alongside Jesse Davidson (who, at the very beginning, evokes everything I love about Flume). That said, Soliloquy has real talent, and I always love supporting Aussie hip-hop. And Marionettes, not my cup of tea, but still well-listenable.

OK. Finally. The last part. I apologise to my friends and family, and if you’re still reading by now, I heartily commend you.

FALLS AND SOUTHBOUND.

A Crying Shame.

Forget BDO, I have never loved a lineup more.

Allow me to elucidate through a ranked list With Headings!

Bands/Artists I Consider Among My Very Favourites:

BPM
TDCC
Best Coast
Lisa Mitchell
Boy & Bear

Bands/Artists I Love To Death But Of Whom/Which I Know Too Few Tracks To, In Good Conscience, Call Myself A Proper Fan:

SBTRKT
Cosmo Jarvis
The Vaccines
Bombay Bicycle Club
Jinja Safari
Hot Chip
Hilltop Hoods
Angus Stone

Bands/Artists Of Which/Whom I Ashamedly Know Little But Would Definitely Try And See At A Festival (Or Whom I Don’t Like Enough To Be Placed In The Above Category):

The Flaming Lips
Django Django
Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs
Matt Corby
Beach House
Maximo Park
Ash Grunwald

Which Leaves Only A Small Handful Of Bands To Which I Am Ambivalent.

So yeah. It’s a crying shame, but I shouldn’t complain.

Man I’m hungry.

YAY, YOU REACHED THE END!

(click it click it click it)

Leave a Reply

