Moles, Mice, and Miles Halter

Way back at the beginning of these holidays, when an endless expanse of carefree, unbridled joy stretched out before me and life seemed full of potential and wonderment and what ifs, I did a few things.

First, I bought a Moleskine. In fact, I bought two.

Here they are.

Aren’t they purrrrrrrtyyyyy? Well, actually, to be honest they don’t look that fantastic. No different from any other notebook. But they’re Eye-talian and they came with security stickers, so they have to be awesome. AND THEY’RE GREEN. GREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEN.

Next, I was lucky enough to go and see Agatha Christie’s The Mousetrap. And guess what. I’m now sworn to secrecy as part of a cult. Yep, that’s right, we’re special. We’ve got t-shirts and everything. So as much as I’d love to tell you all how it played out, my lips (and fingers) must remain sealed.

Finally, I read something I’d been meaning to read for a long time. If you’ve seen my reading stack, you’ll realise that that doesn’t really narrow anything down. (side note, I love it when I use “that that”. Or “had had”. It looks so wrong, but feels oh so right). Anyway, it rhymes with Cooking for Nebraska and its author is my hero. Or one of them anyway.
But seriously, John Green has some serious feels-inducing, thought-provoking skillz, and Looking for Alaska showcases all that and more. Funnily enough, I started off really not engaging with it, but somehow it crept up on me and took me over and around and along on a cray-cray rollercoaster of woah. (I really apologise for my lack of sense. I’m having trouble using my words. I’m tired (but what’s new about that?)).

And now it’s almost the end of the holidays.
And I’ve barely touched my work, or books, or anything.
And I’m tired, and nervous, and angry at my lack of work doing.

And last night I dreamt that I had my arm around Alaska, and everything was just fine.

(which is weird, cause I didn’t really identify with Miles or become as attached to Alaska as I have to a dazzling array of other characters from various media… which will become far clearer in my next series of posts…)

4 comments
  1. I have been staying up ’til midnight reading The Fault in Our Stars! So good. I just. Can’t. Anyway, have you read it? And I’m guessing from this post that I should read Looking for Alaska then? Just another book to add to my stack– which contains just less the 20 at the minute (no lie). Power through!

  2. alexy01 said:

    YES! oh man yes TFIOS is incredible… although I’ve been branded heartless for not crying at the end… which I hope doesn’t spoil anything for you. Absolutely read Looking for Alaska, it’s a bit different but still amazing. I think Paper Towns might be next on the list…

  3. Nope, I finished it at 10:54pm last night and spent a good while after just thinking about the whole thing. BUT HOW COULD YOU NOT CRY? I WAS A BLUBBERING MESS.

  4. alexy01 said:

    I’M SORRY. I MUST BE A CRUEL, SOULLESS AGENT OF MISERY AND DESPAIR.

    although, well, I did feel very many feels, I was maybe just too overwhelmed by the intensity of emotion to really let go and cry? ok that made no sense, but still, I reckon JG’s books (at least the ones I’ve read) do that – they feel so eerily accurate and real and kind of all-pervasive that I just kind of sit there in shock and let the thoughts wash over me. Or something like that.

    But, you know, blubbering mess, that’s a much more appropriate reaction.

Leave a Reply

