I wish there were a soundtrack to life

WARNING: This post borders on crazy emotional rant-domness. Read at your own risk. (also, it’s quite boring).

I just rewatched Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (thanks, Form I English, for that impulse to italicize).
I think it may now be my favourite film.
I am filled WITH SO MANY FEELS RIGHT NOW.

One of the greatest things about it, which I suspect I may not paid great attention to upon first viewing, is the soundtrack. I’m not even really sure why. It’s probably no different in purpose, effectiveness, whatever, from any other soundtrack. Definitely I remember True Grit and The Social Network (also probs at the top of my fave films) having fantastic soundtracks that managed to perfectly evoke certain moods. In True Grit, that sequence near the end where Rooster’s carrying Mattie back to civilisation, and medical attention and that, and that beautiful kinda inspirational frontier music is playing, and it’s full of promise and hope yet tangible idk reality or something, like it evokes some sort of deep bitterness or something. WHY ARE THESE WORDS SO WRONG. oh well, that was my shot at being clever about something arty and “cultured” hahaha.
But also in The Social Network, it’s so cool at the beginning where he’s running across the Harvard campus and there’s this weird sort of underlying tension and movement promised by the music, and it’s kinda discordant or atonal or something. Yeah. That was cool too

ANYWAY.

Back to the original point. Eternal Sunshine is incredible. I love it so much. I love Michel Gondry so much.
And it’s amazing what a soundtrack adds emotionally to everything that happens. Like when there’s a memory montage of like halcyon dates (particularly the parade, near the end of the film) and the kinda happy inspirational instrumental music is incredible.

Life should have a soundtrack.

I wish I knew enough music to try to compose a soundtrack to even one day.
(actually, that’s a pretty good goal hmmm…)

(ps MY GOD. TRYING TO USE BIG WORDS AND SOUNDING LIKE A PRETENTIOUS DICK.
that’s me wooooooo. I deeply apologize.)

3 comments
  1. joy said:

    i wish i had the motivation/courage to blog! i love your blog already haha 🙂 BUT i already feel its a mistake that you gave me your link – study is being neglected

    but sorry bro i DISLIKE ETERNAL SUNSHINE. its sooooo weird.

  2. alexy01 said:

    beyond, we already discussed this. I don’t think we can be friends anymore.

  3. alexy01 said:

    BUT THANKS FOR THE FIRST EVER COMMENT WOOOOOO

Leave a Reply

